Hein Van Poppel

The PCa models will be put offline on January 8th, 2019.
Interested in uro-oncology? Check out our new accredited PinPoint case platform on ppcp.mirrorsmed.org

Hein Van Poppel

University Hospitals Leuven, Urology

Hendrik Van Poppel, MD, PhD is the Chairman of the Department of Urology at the University Hospital Gasthuisberg, Katholieke Universiteit (KU) Leuven. He graduated in General Surgery in 1980, in Urology in 1983 and joined the Academic Unit at KU Leuven after his postgraduate training in London, Barcelona, Copenhagen, Mainz and Rotterdam. In 1988, he obtained a PhD in Medical Sciences. He became a Fellow of the European Board of Urology (FEBU) in 1992, full Professor of Urology in 1993, and chair of the department of urology in Leuven in 2002. He was visiting Professor in Aachen (DE), Munster (DE), ‘s Hertogenbosch (NL), Linz (AU), Nijmegen (NL), Barcelona (SP), Zaragoza (SP), Jönköping (SE), Marburg (DE), Cardiff (UK), London (UK), Beijing (CN), Heidelberg (DE) and Mainz (DE), were he demonstrated uro-oncologic surgery.

He developed the original surgical technique for prepubic urethrectomy, percutaneous gastrostomy, lumbal splenectomy during orthotopic kidney transplantation, and of the Leuven “N”pouch for bladder substitution. He performed more than 2500 radical prostatectomies and actually only performs major open oncological surgery for kidney, bladder, prostate, testis and penile cancer.

He was Chairman of the Education Office of the EAU and Director of the European School of Urology (ESU) and became EAU Adjunct Secretary General, responsible for education, in 2012. He is a member of several international scientific organisations as the American Urological Association (AUA) and the American Association of Genito-Urinary Surgeons (AAGUS). He is Chairman of the Scientific Committee of Europa Uomo and Faculty Member of the European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO).

He is reviewer for all major urological and uro-oncological journals. He became honorary member of the Asociatia Romana de Urologie (ARU), the Dutch Urological Association (DUA), the Georgian Urological Association (GUA), the Hungarian Association of Urology (HSU), the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Urologie (DGU), the Chinese Urological Association (CUA) and the Polish Urological Association (PTU).

He was promotor, co-promotor or jury member of more than 25 doctoral theses at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. He has published more than 200 papers as first author on uro-oncology and has co-authored more than 300 other ones.
His department in Leuven, Belgium hosts yearly about 20 visitors for short and intermediate stays and constantly 2 or 3 research fellows from all over the world, often in collaboration with the European Urology Scholarship Programme of the EAU (EUSP).